Skip to content

Infinity Scarf from Upcycled Sweater

February 2, 2011

Last night I was cutting my old clothes into strips for a future rag rug or woven potholder, when I realized the ribbing at the bottom of the sweater I was cutting off was perfect for a scarf!  This particular sweater is extremely soft and the ribbing had just enough thickness and structure for this project.

I started off with two strips of fabric.  One is the ribbing from the bottom of the sweater, and the other strip is fabric from from the rest of the sweater that I cut into equal width.  (If you think about doing this project in advance, unlike myself, you can jut cut one wide strip instead so you only have to sew one side instead of two like mine).

Then I pinned them together, inside out, and sewed them, like I would a pillow, but just on the two long sides.

Next, I stuck my arm through and turned the strip right-side-out.

The hardest part of this for me, was then folding in the ends on one side, and sticking the other end of the fabric inside of it.  I pinned it shut, then hand-sewed it because of the thickness.

Finally, for good measure, and to flatten out the sewed up sides, I ironed it all the way around.  It was very easy, and I’m very excited to have my first infinity scarf without spending a dime.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 10:17 am

    Cool idea – I have a sweater that really needs to be scarf!

  2. February 4, 2011 6:27 pm

    I have GOT to try this!! You make it sound really easy, thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial: Upcycle an old sweater into an infinity scarf · Sewing | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

