Skip to content

Strawberry Caprese Salad

May 15, 2011

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while.  Moving brought out a whole list of stressors- We bought a car, I got a job, and we’re currently looking for a house to rent.  It’s an exciting time!  We’re still staying at David’s very generous cousin and her husband’s place and I simply have not gotten my act together enough to get back into blogging.  As things fall into place I plan on picking up the pace, though.

And today, I bring you a Strawberry Caprese Salad!  A few weekends ago, Dave and I headed to the Ponchatoula Strawberry Festival where we sampled  Deep Fried Battered Strawberries, sucked down Strawberry Daiquiris, and purchased a half a flat of strawberries.  Since I was unemployed, I planned a Strawberry Extravaganza the next day featuring dishes such as Strawberry Lassis, Strawberry Gazpacho, and Spaghetti with Strawberries.  As you may derive from this list, strawberries have some similar flavor components to tomatoes, so there are many strawberry recipes that are typical tomato dishes.  In my search for strawberry recipes, I ran across a couple mentions of this on some websites, which referenced The Flavor Thesaurus, by Niki Segnit.  I do not own the book and have yet to read it, but it looks like a fascinating culinary book to check out.

Deep Fried Strawberries from the Ponchatoula Strawberry Festival

Since I was coming across all these “tomatoes swapped out for strawberries” dishes, it occurred to me to make a Strawberry Caprese Salad.  I love fresh mozzarella and basil, but have always had a problem eating raw tomatoes.  (Gasp!) I know, I know, a vegetarian that doesn’t like raw tomatoes seems kind of ridiculous, but I can safely say that I have tried my darndest to grow a taste for them. Unlike bananas, cucumbers, and mushrooms (which I successfully forced myself to grow to love in my early twenties), I just haven’t gotten there with tomatoes yet.  Hence, it occurred to me to swap out the tomatoes in caprese salad for the strawberries.  I have to say, it’s amazing.  When family was over today for the monthly Third Sunday Lunch, I served them as appetizers and they all went pretty quickly.

I won’t give quantities for the recipe, because you can make as much or as little as you like, but all I did to make a tray was set up an assembly line of sorts: I hulled the strawberries and sliced a small spot on one side so they stood up flat.  Then, I took some large tooth picks and stabbed a bit of basil, a small fresh mozzarella ball, and a strawberry on each one before sprinkling the top with some Balsamic Vinegar.  Yum!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 28, 2011 5:46 am

    Oh my gosh, I made these last night for some friends I had over, delicious!!! I love “normal” caprese salads, but this was delightful! I never would have anticipated how delicious the fresh mozzzarella would taste with the sweet strawberry! Thanks so much for the idea!

  2. August 11, 2011 6:33 pm

    I’m so glad you liked it! :) Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

