Skip to content

Surprisingly, Blow Torches Do Not Fix Ugly Potholders

February 5, 2011

Not all my projects are successful.

 

What do you get when your boyfriend lights your potholder on fire with a blow torch?

...A Burnt Potholder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes my crafting adventures turn into misadventures.

How does one get to this point, you might ask, where someone thinks it’s a good idea to put a blow torch to your potholder?  When does crafting go wrong?

I started this project with the fantastic idea of using my old shirts and sweaters and jeans as material for an eclectic, woven potholder.

I started by lovingly sewing strips of old shirts together.

 

 

 

I diligently wove the fabric onto a loom.

 

 

 

I weaved in the fabric crosswise as well, and tried to finish off the edges nicely.  But when it was done, it was not a blog-worthy project.  Instead of looking like a crafty, eclectic potholder, it looked messy and childish.

 

 

This is when Boyfriend tried to come to the rescue.  “What about if we burn it a little?”

I know what your thinking….

Probably something like, “What the…?”

So was I, but my potholder was ugly anyway and I appreciated the creativity and support David was offering, so I told him to go ahead and give it a whirl.  His thinking is, “you pay more for jeans that look pre-worn…won’t that make your potholder look better too?”

Armed with my camera, we headed into the garage and laughed at ourselves with safety goggles on.  David lit his blow torch.  That is when he lit my potholder on fire, and discovered that indeed, blow torches do not fix ugly potholders.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 3:22 am

    You two are adrenalin junkies living on the very edge… seriously, great post. First proper lough today. Thanks.

    Terol C.

  2. March 15, 2011 8:32 pm

    I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve lit my potholders on fire.
    Awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

