Skip to content

Comforter Cover “Picture Frame”

January 19, 2011

I made this several months ago for Dave’s Summer comforter, which had no cover on it and was looking kind of icky.  With lots of time and a $50 gift certificate for one of those super stores I rarely go to, I decided to purchase a few sets of cheap sheets and construct a comforter cover for him.

I knew that I wanted to do something relatively simple because he’s not into major frills for his bachelor pad, so I decided on the grey and red with an interchangeable “picture frame” on it.  I honestly don’t know how I came up with the idea of doing the interchangeable panels in the picture frame, but I guess it just came to me as I was trying to figure out a way to make it not so plain, and allow some amount of variation.

Making the frame on the duvet cover was pretty easy.  I sewed a wide frame onto the duvet cover, without sewing down the inner edges of the frame.  Then, I sewed square panels that would fit inside of the frame, using velcro on the bottom corners of the panel and on the duvet cover underneath the frame to get the panels to stay put.

To get the designs on my panels, I simply hijacked my desired images from the internet, and printed them onto iron-on fabric.  I cut out my images, and then ironed them onto the panels to complete my pictures.

What I think is especially nifty about this idea is how you can personalize it.  I picked a fleur de lis for Dave because it’s a symbol for his roots in Louisiana, as well as the tree branch because we’re both into nature.  If you’re making something like this for Grandma you can even iron on pictures of grandchildren, or make different panels to coordinate with different holidays.  It certainly doesn’t change the look of the entire room to switch out the panels, but adds just that bit of variation to spice things up sometimes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

