Skip to content

Goblet Candles

January 7, 2011

I love candles, but unless you buy those giant “eggnog” or “apple pie”-scented candles in jars on clearance at Target, they can carry quite the hefty price tag.  Forget it if you want anything a little more stylin’.  For instance, take this beautiful goblet-style amethyst candle.  Don’t get me wrong- it’s gorgeous!- but at $20 a pop, they’re not quite in my budget at this stage in my life, and I can make something quite similar for a lot cheaper.

This is partly what led me to making my own candles.  But there’s also something exciting about rummaging through the glass at a second-hand store to find that buried treasure.  You can find things that are more unique than any jar at Target, and with a price tag of a buck or two, it can’t be beat.  Not to mention the fact that its much more eco-friendly to make a local second-hand purchase than have something brand new shipped from across the country or overseas.

Homemade candles are also great gifts to have on hand, but I found some amazing black glass goblets I will use for my own home decor.  They have a somewhat dark romantic vibe, and I picture them on a side table below some interesting black and white pictures which I will post when the time comes.

It really is quite easy to make candles.  It does take some cash to get the soy wax, candle thermometer, tacky wax, wick tabs, and wick, but it definitely saves you money in the long run.

I started off by cutting my wick to a length a little bit longer than the goblet, just to give myself some headway.  You can purchase different sized wicks (some burn wider than others), based on the size of candle you’re making.  Thread the wick through a metal wick tab, and clamp it the metal around the wick so it stays put.

Now take a pea-sized amount of your tacky wax, stick it underneath the metal wick tab, and stick it to the bottom of your holder.  At this point, I like to tape the top of the wick to a pen or pencil so the wick goes straight up.

Now it’s time to bust out a pot.  They say it works better with a double boiler, but I have really faced no problems using thick-bottomed glass pot and being careful about my heat.  In my case, I bust out my designated “candle pot” and “candle spoon”  because really don’t want to worry about getting wax all over my nice dishes, and this glass pot came from my boyfriend (who received it as a hand-me-down from his mother) who was about to throw it in the garbage.

Now I just dump in my wax, turn up the heat to about low-medium, and start stirring.  I have chosen soy wax because paraffin wax is supposed to be somewhat unhealthy and potentially carcinogenic.  I get a large box, so I always have some on hand when I need it.

When you are melting your soy wax, periodically stick in a candle thermometer to keep track of the temperature.  Different wax is supposed to heat to different degrees so you’ll want to check your box to make sure, but mine has to get to 180 degrees.  I take it off the heat a few degrees before that because the wax is so thick I know it will continue to jump up in temperature for a moment afterward.

If I splatter or drip a little around my goblet, I usually just wait until it's dry to scrape it off.

Once it cools down to 140 degrees in temperature (be patient, this takes a while) you can add a dollop of fragrance if desired and pour it into your holders.  After the wax is done drying you can take off your pencil or pen, cut your wick, and voila!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

